My Vacation Week

Today is my last day off, as I return to work tomorrow. Although I didn’t do very much during my vacation, except for my attendance at school, I would still have to say it was enjoyable. The time off allowed me to get ahead on my writing at school and although I had the opportunity to catch up on my reading, I failed at that terribly.

They say good writing goes hand in hand with reading, so I did a little research online for some good books to read. After finding a few, I put them on hold through our library’s website and was able to pick them up on Tuesday. Although I have come to enjoy reading a lot, especially since returning to school in September 2009, it seems most of the reading I do is on the internet. Internet reading can be good, but more often isn’t. I did a little research and found a good book website, www.goodreads.com, which allows you to keep track of the books you have read, are currently reading, or plan on reading. It’s also cool because if you are a Facebook user, you can share your progress with your family and friends.

 I also succeeded with setting up my blog site here at WordPress. I started blogging a few years ago however I wasn’t really on top of my writing at the time. For the past few months, I have been really interested in restarting my old site; however, due to the costs associated with my own site, I felt it would be best to do this site for free. If I am successful at keeping this up, then I will go back to my old site. This site isn’t too bad, although I have found it doesn’t allow for much customization. I also chose WordPress because it will make for an easy transition back to “frankspointofview.com” since YAHOO Web Hosting also uses it there.

On a different note, my mom’s dog “Spooky” passed last night. She was given to her by my grandmother quite a few years ago. I am estimating her age to be around 15 years old. I noticed her becoming ill on Tuesday and started to feel like she was going to leave us soon. A few months ago, we had started feeding her moist food because it looked like she was having trouble with the dry food. As of this past Wednesday, she wasn’t eating but a little bite, and then she’d walk away from it.

My dog, Gizmo, will be nine in September. Although I still believe she has many good years ahead of her, I am dreading the day something happens to her. I have had her since she was so tiny, a little bigger than my palm. I have never been away from her for any extended period of time, except when I travel by air. If I travel by vehicle, she’s joins me and so far, she has been the best companion on a long drive. She loves the car; since she was a puppy she would often take drives with me back and forth from Southern California to Central California. The longest trip we took together is to Lumberton, Texas. I went out there a few years ago to attend the funeral of a family friend. She, as always, did really well on that trip too!

Well, I am off… to get ready for the upcoming week. I really don’t have much to do since I accomplished a lot of it during the week. I will work during the week on writing about some subjects that will be posted here soon. Although I often get caught writing about my opinions with politics, I will try to stay away from that and write about different things. Let’s see how long that lasts…

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

